top of page

Interview with Alexander Khah

His ideology: Art (indefinable with words, yet we still try) is a manifested expression of the inspired being within whom we all share some expanding consciousness with. Many refer to it as god, the cosmos, that little voice way beyond one's initial, relative reality, this passionate breath that moves people, moves him to create... this is art.

Alexander Khah has been flowing with his passion in the arts for nearly 20 years, dabbling in painting and honing his skills in sculpture, listening to the way of his being; but he didn't always start out that way....

He had always been a "go-getter". When he was 17, he left Iran for Germany seeking to explore the world outside his culture's hold. He tried out odd jobs here and there and was even known as the Medicine Man mixologist at a nightclub for his fun, spunky attire and attitude. "It was a scene. But it really wasn't me. I was so lost in the show," he said to me among the buzz of lights in the bunker-like Foundry at UC Santa Cruz. "It was a phase. But I don't regret it. It brought me to where I am now."

Alexander went to college in Cologne, Germany to become a Dental Technician where he experienced his first interaction with metal, his medium of choice today living in Santa Cruz among the Redwoods and sandy beaches. "From tiny little teeth to giant sculptures... it's just the process of my career," he smirked reflecting on this connection, something he was unaware of until now. But that's what he loves about the way he lives in his art: "Sometimes I don't know what I'm doing, but I am compelled to do it... It could be months or even years later, and then I become aware of why I did it, then it appears to me. And I love it."

Alexander, with his "careful" (full-of-care) attitude and fluid lifestyle, is about to graduate unfazed by the uncertainties and pressures of his future. He lives in the present, cultivating his own culture and celebrating life in every breath of his art.

Check out Alexander Khah here.

 

Film interview with Alexander Khah

 YAWNING TIGER   MANIFEST: 

 

The Yawning Tiger Collective

is a place to gather 

the beautiful things 

I see in people even when

they may be yawning.

 

It is my assortment of 

interactions with art, artists, 

and enthusiasts of life 

whom I have had the

enormous honor and 

pleasure of reflecting

upon their passions.

 YAWNING TIGER   MANIFEST: 

 

The Yawning Tiger is a creature of beauty that is 

unaware of its own beauty.

 

Yawning Tiger Collective

is a place to gather 

the beautiful things I see.

It is my assortment of 

interactions with art, artists, 

and enthusiasts of life, 

all of which, I have had the

enormous honor and 

pleasure of reflecting upon.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
 YAWNING TIGER MANIFEST: 

 

The Yawning Tiger is a creature of beauty

that is unaware of its own beauty.

 

Yawning Tiger Collective is a place 

to gather the beautiful things I see

It is my assortment of  interactions with

art, artists, and enthusiasts of life,

all of which, I have had the enormous 

honor and pleasure of reflecting upon.

bottom of page