top of page

The Duality of the "Feminine" Film


Yawning Tiger Collective's gif from Jane Campion's "Sweetie".

There has always been this rather long, draining conversation about the obvious adversity female directors face in the film industry. Then there is an even longer debate about how to make "strong" female characters. Despite one being an interpretation of reality and one orchestrating a constructed reality, there is a very real battle that both face. The battle of duality.

In an article I wrote for EyeCandy Film Journal, I discussed the concepts surrounding the creation of "strong" female characters and addressed progressive female directors (as well as, the contrary): The Art of Repulsive Sexual Tension

It's been a couple years since I wrote it. Looking back at it now, I realize a few things that I had been unaware of. Ignorant really, and I found that I had added to this adversity.

There is really no one to blame for adversity. Some may blame the ignorant, but each and every person is on their journey to awareness and understanding amongst all the influences and challenges this world presents. Ignorance is part of the process in living, being. My friend once posed a question to me: When does ignorance end and awareness begin? And vice versa: When does ignorance begin and awareness end?

It is true that we claim that others are ignorant only because we can see what they currently do not. No one ever claims that they are ignorant and then continues to be ignorant. For the moment they are aware of something, they are no longer ignorant of it. There will always be an infinite ignorance (since there is always something we are not aware of), but because of this ignorance there is also a growing, infinite awareness....

Ignorance is a necessary step to awareness, which makes it rather unnecessary to judge the process. And today, I've become aware of something. It has come to forefront of my mind because I had been ignorant of it. I do not regret my ignorance, for it brought me to a new awareness. So here I present my newfound awareness:

In the article I wrote for EyeCandy, I openly bashed the female filmmaker, Sophia Coppola, and compared the way she addressed her female characters to another female filmmaker, Jane Campion. By stating that there is a "proper" way to make a female character, I close myself to the many viewpoints that come with being human. Not all humans are strong, so not all women are strong. But not all women are weak either. If I expect every female character to be "strong", then I have closed the door on the female characters that could exist. There is no right or wrong character. Characters are beings created to be. Not to be judged by duality, but understood and experienced in their process (independent of whether they are progressive or conservative). They just are.

Yes, you can have your opinion to like a character or not, but the greatest thing about that character is that you can't change them. They are their true quality, which makes them an individual beyond anyone's idea of how they "should" be. They are how they are, and will remain so.

I admit, I would like to see a world that respects the feminine point of view meriting it as a unique, not weak. Eventually, I would like to see a world that does not point out that a director is female, but moves past this concept of gender to see the artistry in the individual's perspective.

Of course, there has always been this growing controversy over the role of gender in society. Many see film as the great influencer that can affect how society perceives and treats women. So there is this pressure for directors to make characters that abide by certain standards (whether it's a pressure to oppress the female character or make her "strong"). Either way, it's a pressure that diminishes the vision that the director had for the character. Influenced by "should-be's" versus "could-be's". Hindering the director's perspective instead of allowing the unique approach of the director to flourish (with minimal influence of you). Isn't that why we watch films? To see a new perspective regardless of whether we like the perspective or not? Film pulls you out of you, so you may garner new awareness. We move in life to see more, learn more. Movies help us move.

 YAWNING TIGER   MANIFEST: 

 

The Yawning Tiger Collective

is a place to gather 

the beautiful things 

I see in people even when

they may be yawning.

 

It is my assortment of 

interactions with art, artists, 

and enthusiasts of life 

whom I have had the

enormous honor and 

pleasure of reflecting

upon their passions.

 YAWNING TIGER   MANIFEST: 

 

The Yawning Tiger is a creature of beauty that is 

unaware of its own beauty.

 

Yawning Tiger Collective

is a place to gather 

the beautiful things I see.

It is my assortment of 

interactions with art, artists, 

and enthusiasts of life, 

all of which, I have had the

enormous honor and 

pleasure of reflecting upon.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
 YAWNING TIGER MANIFEST: 

 

The Yawning Tiger is a creature of beauty

that is unaware of its own beauty.

 

Yawning Tiger Collective is a place 

to gather the beautiful things I see

It is my assortment of  interactions with

art, artists, and enthusiasts of life,

all of which, I have had the enormous 

honor and pleasure of reflecting upon.

bottom of page